External Awards

National & International Awards

IU Bloomington faculty in the arts and humanities are scholars of national and global caliber, as underscored by the prestigious awards and recognitions they garner each year.    

African American and African Diaspora Studies

Berry Jr., Stafford: Bloomington Arts Project Grant for "For Kuadimsha: A Black Culture Celebration, December 2019" awarded by the Bloomington Arts Commission

Calloway-Thomas, Carolyn: Paul Robeson and Zora Neale Hurston Award for Outstanding Leadership and Promotion of African American Humanites 2019 awarded by the National Council for Black Studies

Cooper, Tyron: 2019 Emmy for his music in the PBS documentary film, "Eva-A-7063" awarded by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences

Grim, Valerie: Sankore Institute Award for Outstanding Institutional Achievement as the chair of AAADS awarded by the National Council of Black Studies

Williams, Jakobi: 2019 Summer Institute on Tenure and Professional Advancement (SITPA) grant awarded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Wolfskill, Phoebe: Summer 2020 Paul Mellon Visiting Senior Fellowship- Washington, D.C. for research on her next book project titled "Photography, Painting, and the Early Twentieth-Century Black Subject awarded by the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts, National Gallery of Art

American Studies

Inouye, Karen: Fall 2019 Visiting Fellow for the Center for Race and Ethnicity at Brown University

Wester, Maisha: 2020-2024 Global Professorship for the British Academy

Art History

Facos, Michelle: Fall 2019, University of Greifswald Research Fellowship awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Gleisser, Faye: Spring 2020 Postdoctoral Fellowship awarded by the Smithsonian Museum of American Art


Elmer, Jonathan: Fellowship for the American Council of Learned Societies

Herring, T. Scott: Fellowship for National Endowment for the Humanities

Rosenfeld, Alvin: Major Research Award from the Koret Foundation 

Folklore & Ethnomusicology

Goldstein, Diane: Linda Degh Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding contributions to legend scholarships awarded by the International Society for Contemporary Legend Research

Jones, Alisha Lola: March 2020 Inaugural James Patterson Fellow of the Residential Colleges awarded by Blair School of Music at Vanderbilt University

Kay, Jon: Traditional Arts and Aging: A Folk Arts Survey and Prgogram Grant awarded by the National Endowment for the Arts

McDonald, David A.: Crossroads Music and Social Justice Prize awarded by the Society for Ethnomusicology

McDowell, John: Lifetime Achievement Award in Children's Folklore awarded by the American Folklore Society 

Gender Studies

Bucur, Maria: Summer Faculty Fellowship awarded by the National Endowment for the Humanities

Individual Research Grant awarded by the National Council for Eurasian and East European Research

Fair, Freda: Fall 2019 Career Enhancement Fellowship awarded by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation

Friedman, Sara: Spring 2020 Fulbright Fellowship- Taiwan awarded by the United States State Department 

Weber, Brenda: November 2019 Distinguished Visiting Professor awarded by the Department of American Culture at Le Havre University

Germanic Studies

Chaouli Michel:2018-2022 Einstein Visiting Fellow at the Friedrich Schlegel Graduate School of Literary Studies, Freie Universität Berlin, and director of the research project "The Philological Laboratory" awarded by Einstein Foundation.


Deliyannis, Deborah: 2020 Robert L. Kindrick- CARA Award for Outstanding Service to Medieval Studies awarded by the Medieval Academy of America

Guardino, Peter: Paul J. Foik Award for the best book on Catholicism in the Southwest- The Dead March: A History of the Mexican American War awarded by the Texas Catholic Society

Hanson, John H.: Service Award for a decade's service as coeditor of History in Africa: A Journal of Debates, Methods, and Source Analysis, a scholarly journal published by Cambridge University awarded by the African Studies Association

Knott, Sarah: Appointed Distinguished Lecturer by the Organization of American Historians

Ransel, David: Distinguished Contribution Award awarded by the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies

Sahin, Kaya: 2020-21 academic year fellowship for the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study

Sandweiss, Eric: Spring 2021 Fulbright United States Scholar Fellowship- National University of Ireland-Galway awarded by the United States State Department

Wu, Ellen: 2020-21 Senior Fellowship to work on her book project Overrrepresented: Asian Americans in the Age of Affirmative Action awarded by the Ford Foundation

History and Philosophy of Science and Medicine

Lloyd, Elisabeth: 2018-2021 Grant of $500,748 for "Big Data and Climate Science: A Philosophical and Methodological Exploration" awarded by the National Science Foundation

2018-2020 Affiliate Scientist for the National Center for Atmospheric Research

Schickore, Jutta & Newman, William: 2019 Grant of $225,000 to fund a Sawyer Seminar at IU Bloomington: "Rigor: control, analysis and synthesis un historical and systematic perspectives" in the academic year of 2020-21 awarded by the Mellon Foundation

Schickore, Jutta: 2019 NSF Grant of $30,906 for "From Unification to Pluralism. The future of Integrated History and Philosophy of Science" awarded by the National Science Foundation

Media School

Conway, Mike: 2020 Broadcast Historian Award for Contested Ground: "The Tunnel" and the Struggle Over Television News in Cold War America awarded by the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation


Wood, Rega: 2017-2021 Scholarly Editions and Translations Grant for Richard Rufus Project awarded by the National Endowment for the Humanities

Religious Studies

Ing, Michael: New Directions Fellowship to explore new channels in Hawaiian Studies awarded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Dinverno, Melissa: Fall 2019 Fulbright Senior Scholar Award for Research- Universidad Complutense de Madrid to work on her book project Deconstructing Lorca: Identity, Culture and Nation in Contemporary Spain awarded by the United States State Department

Herrera, Israel: Grant awarded by Indiana Humanities

Be More Influential Award award by the City of Bloomington

Larson, Catherine: Best Translated Edition for her translation of Angela de Azevedo's "El muerto disimulado" awarded by the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women and Gender

Sadlier, Darlene: 22nd Annual Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Finalist for her book "The Lily Library from A to Z: Intriguing Objects in a World-Class Collection"

Viera, Estela: Humboldt Research Fellowship for Experienced Researchers for her work entitled "The Invisibles: Women Writers in Nineteenth-Century Portugal" awarded by the Germany Federal Ministry of Education and Research